ISDE & Committees

International Society for Diseases of the Esophagus

The ISDE is an international, multispecialty society devoted to the study of the esophagus in disease and in health that was founded in 1979.

The aims of the ISDE are to promote the exchange of scientific and medical knowledge among specialists in the field, to maintain interchange with organizations and industries, and to encourage basic and clinical research in fields related to the esophagus. In order to promote the professional and educational development of individuals interested in the esophagus, the ISDE sponsors its own journal, international congresses, and other educational programs.

The ISDE Secretariat was in Tokyo, Japan, from 1979 to 2004, and then resided in Los Angeles, California, from 2004 through 2010. Since 2010 the Secretariat has been in Vancouver, British Columbia, under the auspices of International Conferences Service, Ltd.

The ISDE welcomes participation by existing members and encourages individuals who are professionally interested in the esophagus to become members. Benefits include reduced registration fees at our congresses and other educational offerings, restricted access to website content and member search capability, access to webcasts, reduced subscription rates for our journal, and the opportunity to help lead this organization into a position of leadership in the worldwide medical community.

ISDE Executive Committee

Yuko Kitagawa, President
Prateek Sharma, Vice President
David Watson, Secretary
Janusz Jankowski, Treasurer
Kenneth K Wang, Past President
Mark Ferguson, Executive Director

ISDE Society Directors

CS Pramesh, India
Manuel Pera, Spain
Gary Falk, USA
Edoardo Savarino, Italy
Hiroya Takeuchi, Japan

ISDE 2018 Program Committee

Yuko Kitagawa, Japan
Prateek Sharma, USA

Surgical Oncology
CS Pramesh, India
Christophe Mariette, France
Lorenzo Ferri, Canada
Magnus Nilsson, Sweden
Gail E. Darling, Canada
Long-Qi Chen, China

Manabu Muto, Japan
Mark Ferguson, USA
Michael Haefner, Italy
Nageshwar Reddy, India

Medical Oncology
Ken Kato, Japan

Radiation Oncology
Prajnan Das, USA
Brian G. Czito, USA

Peter Siersema, The Netherlands
Ulysses Ribeiro, Brazil
Sabine Roman, France

Margaret Skinner, USA

ISDE 2018 Local Education Committee

Sebastian Schoppmann, Austria

Conference Newsletter


Subscribe to the Newsletter to receive important information about the upcoming Conference.